Wednesday, November 30, 2005

follow-up: tegan and sara video

I've been getting a tremendous amount of responses pertaining to the Tegan and Sara video I posted up about a week ago. It's very flattering receiving e-mails and IMs giving me postive feedback on it. I do promise to post more footage and clips from the instore during this week or next, as a token of appreciation. Keep an eye out.

battles signs with warp records

Appears Battles has signed with Warp Records. Warp Records, if you did not know, is home of bands such as !!!, Maximo Park, and Boards Of Canada. Spawning from bands such as Don Caballero and Helmet, you can only expect greatness from this gnarly instrumental band.

Monday, November 28, 2005


A lot of fuss has been speculating around this band throughout blogs. I checked this band out a couple months back, and I fell in love. Their Raised By Wolves EP is, to say the least, superb.

I see big things ahead for Voxtrot.

Gorilla Vs. Bear has pointed out that they have a new song on their myspace. If anyone is willing to rip this in mp3 format for download, I would forever be grateful.

Saturday, November 26, 2005

the lovekevins

When I think of The Lovekevins, I think of solid, straight pop music. I came across this band looking through some playlist on a website. I listened to a couple of their mp3s, and grabbed their EP, Blame The English, right away. Their new four song EP, Max Leon, was released recently, but I have yet to hear it. I bet it's delightful though.

They practically have their whole Blame The English EP up for download on their website, with the exception of one track (which isn't a shame, since I don't favor it).

+ Featured songs; (off of Blame The English EP):

01. Blame The English
02. Stop Being Perfect
03. Happy Happy

I highly recommend listening to "Happy Happy". It's my favorite. Also, they have a track up from their newest EP entitled,

Let me know what you think.

Friday, November 25, 2005

animal collective live and bonus

One of my favorite album this year was definitely Animal Collective's "Feels". It was just such an awesome disc. When they came around to San Francisco a few days ago, I regretfully missed it. That was one live show I wanted to witness this year.

Anyhow, I have some treats for you guys. I have uploaded two Animal Collective live discs I found on Indietorrents. One is a bonus disc to "Feels", which was limited to about a thousand copies. The second one is a live recording in New York, New York. Pretty interesting stuff if you are into live recordings and such.

Here's the tracklisting for the two:

- Animal Collective - "Feels" Bonus Disc
01. Banshee Beat [Haverford, PA] (11:47)
02. Loch Raven [Haverford, PA] (6:43)
03. Did You See The Words [Chapel Hill, NC] (6:30)
04. Wastered [Toronto, ON] (3:50)

- Animal Collective - Live In NY, NY (2/25)
01. Loch Raven (12:20)
02. Banshee Beat (11:44)
03. Fickle Cycle (7:41)
04. Untitled (5:39)
05. Turn Into Something (10:44)
06. Grass (4:26)
07. Daffy Duck (7:18)
08. Purple Bottle (15:26)
09. Did You See The Words (6:35)
10. Kids On Holiday (9:40)

+ Featured downloads; Animal Collective Feels Bonus Disc - download here, Animal Collective Live In NY, NY - download here

Thursday, November 24, 2005

the lovemakers

Lisa Light is quite the frontwoman for this pop/electronica dance band, The Lovemakers. Wearing revealing and sparse outfits on stage, she always promises to get the crowd going. Their shows are often raunchy and emit sex throughout venues.

Their name possibly came from Scott Blonde (guitarist) and Lisa Light's relationship. Amusingly enough, the two were both lovemakers. The group has released two albums, one self-titled, and recently, Times Of Romance. They are currently signed to Cherrytree Records, an imprint from Interscope.

If you're into catchy, dance-beat music, be sure to check this band out. You won't regret it.

+ Featured songs; "Shake That Ass" - download here, "Set Me Free" - download here

also, check out a remix of "Shake That Ass" featuring 50 Cent on their myspace.

live video: tegan and sara

I'm not too keen on this Canadian duo, but my friend Sean had the opportunity to film an in-store they did in Long Beach a couple summers ago (I think this video is either from 2003, or 2004). Afterwards, Sean was fortunate to take them out for pizza. Though I don't find their music enjoyable, I find them quite attractive.

Watch as Tegan discusses how she composed and wrote "Speak Slow" and how it ended up on the record. Apparently, Sara has her own record label and wants to sign Tegan as a solo artist.

This is the first of many videos to come. I hope to have a Red Sparrowes video up by this week. Happy Thanksgiving, folks.

+ Featured download; Tegan And Sara - "Speak Slow" (in-store video) - download here

(p.s., evidently, the last title of the video reads as "". haha, I'm too lazy to fix that).

Wednesday, November 23, 2005

wolf parade cbc radio 3 recordings

Here's a little something I nabbed from Indietorrents awhile back that I want to share with everyone. It's a live Wolf Parade studio session at CBC Radio 3. Enjoy.

01. Lousy Pictures (4:23)
02. I'll Believe In Anything, You'll Believe In Anything (4:22)
03. Same Ghost Every Night (5:09)
04. I Am My Father's Son (3:14)
05. Shine A Light (3:42)

+ Featured download; Wolf Parade CBC Radio 3 Recordings - download here

Tuesday, November 22, 2005

nightmare of you music video

The Long Island based band, Nightmare Of You, have recently shot a video for their single, "I Want To Be Buried In Your Backyard". Looks as though they walked around a forest and filmed their performance there for the video. This band is a bit of a guilty pleasure of mine, as their guitarist/vocalist Brandon Reilly used to play in the now defunct The Movielife (which I was very fond of). Albeit their hardcore roots and origin, Nightmare Of You has more of Smiths/Morrissey pop feel.

+ Check out their video for "I Want To Be Buried In Your Backyard": quicktime | windows

the boy least likely to come to the states

Taken from Pitchforkmedia, 'they will deliver their carefully crafted indie-pop debut, The Best Party Ever, to our shores on April 4, on their own label, Too Young to Die. The album will feature the same 12 songs as the UK version, but will also come strapped with a bonus disc of five songs in their first widely available format, boasting such least likely titles as "Every Grubby Little Memory" and "Rock Upon a Porch With You."'

Am I excited despite the fact that I already own this album? Hell yes. Plus, it's reported they'll tour America beginning in March at SXSW. Even though that's months away, I can't wait.

Monday, November 21, 2005

foreign born

One of my favorite bands as of late has to be Foreign Born. I had discovered this little gem through one of my friends and I was amazed after listening to their EP, In Remote Woods.

Eerie shoegazing-esque guitars, along with strong melodies, produces unforgettable tunes. For fans of The Stills, Interpol, and The Walkmen.

+ Featured song; "We Had Pleasure" - download here

wait, what?

In the next coming weeks, I'll be using this blog to advertise/expose band mp3's, along with hosting live audio, video, and photos from shows I attend. Sit tight.